I&B Ministry to organize Special Interactive Session with Mr. John Bailey

In a major initiative to explore possibilities of collaboration, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting is organizing a Special Interactive Session with Mr. John Bailey, President of Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences on 28th May at Siri Fort, New Delhi.

READ:- Worshiping the gift of gentle strength..! PM Modi to seek his mother’s blessings for grand NDA win

The interaction will not only throw insights into the thought leadership at Oscars but will also be informative for key stakeholders attending the event. It will throw light not only on the nuances behind the craft of cutting edge filming techniques but also help develop an understanding amongst the stakeholders about creating world class content.

Mr. Bailey will also be interacting with Amit Khare, Secretary, Ministry of I&B. The interaction will be an opportunity for the Ministry to highlight the initiatives of Government in easing the process of filming in the country in order to promote India as a major filming destination.

READ:- Election Commission of India submits list of newly elected members to the 17th Lok Sabha to the Hon’ble President of India

In the 47th edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI), Mr. Robert Yeoman, world known Cinematographer and Mr. Alan Heim, renowned Film Editor from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences had taken Master Class in their respective fields. This interactive session presents an opportunity to further enhance outreach of the Festival and explore possibilities of collaboration with the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences for the Golden Jubilee edition of IFFI which will be organized if Goa in November, 2019.

Brief Profile of John Bailey

READ:- Winning over 41 of 48 seats, CM Fadnavis lauds leaders and workers for their massive efforts

John Bailey is the first Cinematographer to hold the position of Academy President.  His credits include “Ordinary People,” “American Gigolo,” “The Big Chill,” “Groundhog Day,” “As Good as It Gets,” “The Anniversary Party,” “The Way Way Back” and “A Walk in the Woods.” As a cinematographer, he is best known for his collaborations with directors Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Michael Apted, and Ken Kwapis.

READ:- Two Kalyan Manpa worker , taking 35 thousand bribe arrests, case is illegal construction

In 1985, Bailey shared the Cannes Film Festival Best Artistic Contribution Award with EikoIshioka and Philip Glass for Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters. He was nominated for the Independent Spirit Award for Best Cinematography for Tough Guys Don’t Dance and the Camerimage Golden Frog Award for Best Cinematography for Forever Mine. In 2015, the American Society of Cinematographers presented him Lifetime Achievement Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *