* Functions hooked into colormag_action_head action. * * @hooked colormag_head - 10 */ do_action( 'colormag_action_head' ); ?> An oath to lead the state high..! Dr Pramod Sawant heads as new Chief Minister of Goa..! - Mumbai Aaspaas English

An oath to lead the state high..! Dr Pramod Sawant heads as new Chief Minister of Goa..!

Stepping into the responsible shoes amid hectic political negotiations following the death of Manohar Parrikar, BJP Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Goa in the early hours on 19th of March.

Novel CM Pramod Sawant takes over from former defence minister and four-time CM of Goa Manohar Parrikar, who was cremated at the Miramar beach on Monday. “Whatever I am today is all due to Manohar Parrikar. It was he who brought me to politics. I became the Speaker and the CM today, due to him,” he said after meeting the Governor.

READ:- Stepping into shoes of CM Parrikar, Goa awaits for young and dynamic Dr Pramod Sawant as its new Chief Minister

Sawant’s swearing-in ceremony was initially scheduled to be held at 11pm on Monday but it was pushed back, with the allies seeking to extract their pound of flesh. “The new government has two deputy chief ministers, Goa Forward Party chief Vijai Sardesai and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party MLA Sudin Dhavalikar, from the two small parties backing BJP in the coastal state”, reported the statement.

Apart from the CM and his two deputies, nine other ministers of the state cabinet were also sworn in at the late-night ceremony. The nine other ministers, being Manohar Azgaonkar, Rohan Khaunte, Govind Gaude, Vinod Palienkar, Jayesh Salgaonkar, Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral, Michael Lobo, will be speaker till a new one is elected.

Sawant was elected leader of the BJP legislature party at a meeting held in the state capital minutes after Parrikar was given a state funeral with full military honours. BJP chief Amit Shah and Gadkari met the legislators before the formal resolution was passed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *