Making Maharashtra proud, Swaroop Rawal climbs up to the Global Teachers Award..!

Realising that she could reach more children by not being tied to one specific school, she pursued an eclectic teaching practice that has allowed her to reach a diverse range of children, right form children on the streets, in rural communities, in labour, economically and socially disadvantaged children and elite school children..!

Talking about Swaroop Rawal belonging to Maharashtra in India, who originally never intended to become a teacher, has moved up to make a position in the top 10 finalists of the Global Teachers Prize 2019.

“Teaching is my refusal to remain silent. Education is my way to make better the lives of the children. I perfect my practice so I can improve their schooling. I am absolutely thrilled & honoured to be among the top 10 finalists for the Global Teacher Prize”, she said meanwhile.

READ:- President of India presents Gallantry Awards

However, Maharashtra’s CM Devendra Fadnavis congratulated her for making the state proud with the said achievement. “The only Indian in top 10, among thousands of teachers from more than 150 nations makes Maharashtra proud! It is great to have you as an integral part of our efforts & initiatives for better education! All the best!”, he said.

“I imagine new ways of teaching so I can teach them well to enable them to learn well. It is about the children, always about the children”, she said when asked about the researching life skills enhancement for mental wellbeing, teacher education, and the arts as a tool for education.

Rawal, if awarded with the prize, aims to form a think tank to create and promote special curricula for pre-vocational education (PVE) in primary schools. “This will aim to ensure that children are informed about a variety of possible occupations wherever they live in India. This think tank would share findings internationally for use in other countries, where they are directly related to the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals”, she said.

Some of the others nominated for this award include Andrew Moffat of UK, Daisy Mertens of Netherlands, Hidekazu Shoto form Japan, Martin Salvetti from Argentina, Melissa Salguero of the USA, Peter Tabichi from Kenya and others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *