Lok Sabha Bypoll Results Live: BJP wins Palghar, Shiv Sena cries foul

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Gavit Rajendra Dhedya has won the bypoll in Palghar Lok Sabha constituency while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has emerged victorious in Bhandara-Gondia seat in Maharashtra. In Uttar Pradesh, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) leader Tabassum Hasan defeated Mriganka Singh of the BJP in Kairana. BJP’s ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is leading against Naga People’s Front (NPF) in Nagaland Lok Sabha bypoll.
Reacting to the results in Palghar, the Shiv Sena hit out at the BJP, challenging it to contest elections through ballot papers and not Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).
The counting of votes for bypolls of four high-stake Lok Sabha seats – Kairana, Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar and Nagaland parliamentary constituency – began at 8 am on Thursday. The results of these Lok Sabha constituencies are being seen as a precursor to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019.
Repolling at the four Lok Sabha constituencies took place on Wednesday, May 30. The voter turn-out in Kairana was 61 per cent while Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha recorded 45 per cent turnout and Nagaland 44.68 per cent.
The bypolls in Kairana were necessitated after the seat fell vacant due to BJP leader Hukum Singh’s death. Bypolls to Maharashtra’s Palghar, a reserved seat, was necessitated following sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanga’s death in January. In Bhandara-Gondia the bye-election was necessitated after BJP’s sitting lawmaker Nana Patole joined Congress in December 2017. In Nagaland, Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party was the representative of the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Nagaland. He quit in February to contest in the Assembly elections.

31 May 2018, 17:24 PM
BJP thought the party will rule for 25 years but in just four years, it is clear that things are coming apart from them. EVMs have stopped before polling. The party has shamelessly claimed wins. I have asked EC to not announce the results in Palghar. In fact, I think EC members too need to be elected and not appointed because most of them are appointed by BJP: Uddhav Thackeray

31 May 2018, 17:16 PM
BJP’s vote percentage is constantly falling. The party has insulted people of Maharashtra and 60% people have rejected them in Palghar: Uddhav Thackeray

31 May 2018, 17:12 PM
Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray alleges conspiracy in the counting of votes in Palghar, demands re-counting.

31 May 2018, 15:52 PM
To take a giant leap, you have to take two steps back. We will take a giant leap in future: Rajnath Singh on bypoll results.

31 May 2018, 15:07 PM
Nationalist Congress Party wins Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha bypoll in Maharashtra. Members of the Congress party and the NCP celebrated after the results were declared.

31 May 2018, 14:25 PM 
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wins Palghar bypoll Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra by 29572 votes.

31 May 2018, 14:12 PM 
Mriganka Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party concedes defeat against RLD’s Tabassum Hasan in Kairana Lok Sabha bypoll, says “we were not able to communicate to people the work done by BJP”.

31 May 2018, 14:09 PM
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Gavit Rajendra Dhedya has won the Lok Sabha bypoll in Palghar in Maharashtra.

31 May 2018, 14:01 PM
After completion of 12 rounds of counting of votes in Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha seat, National Congress Party (NCP) candidate Madhukar Kukde got 2,08,883 votes while BJP’s Hemant Patel got 1,88,300 votes.

31 May 2018, 13:31 PM
After 19 rounds of counting of votes in Kairana Lok Sabha constituency, Tabassum Hasan of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) has got 3,81,361 votes while Mriganka Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has got 3,36,039 votes. The RLD candidate, backed in the byelections by opposition parties Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party, is leading with 45,322 votes.

31 May 2018, 13:29 PM
Gavit Rajendra Dhedya of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leading by 22000 votes from Palghar Lok Sabha seat after 16th round of counting.

31 May 2018, 12:30 PM
BJP ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leading over Naga People’s Front (NPF) by 34,669 votes in Nagaland Lok Sabha bypoll.

31 May 2018, 12:12 PM
Reacting to the Palghar Lok Sabha bypoll trends showing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the Shiv Sena, the latter has said that it ready to accept whatever decision people take. The Shiv Sena has, however, alleged that the victory of the BJP might be because of malfunctioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Dilip Lande of the Shiv Sena dared the BJP to contests the elections using ballot papers and not EVMs.

31 May 2018, 11:57 AM  

31 May 2018, 08:36 AM
The BJP is leading in Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra.

31 May 2018, 08:31 AM 
The Shiv Sena is leading against the BJP in Palghar Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra. Palghar is a reserved seat, which was previously held by the BJP. The seat fell vacant after sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanga died in January. He had been elected from the constituency thrice as a BJP member. However, after his death, his family joined hands with the Shiv Sena.

31 May 2018, 08:28 AM
In Maharashtra’s Palghar, Shiv Sena candidate Srinivas Wanga is leading while BJP’s Rajendra Gavit is trailing.

31 May 2018, 08:07 AM
Mriganka Singh of BJP trails against RLD’s Tabassum Hasan from Kairana Lok Sabha seat.

31 May 2018, 08:00 AM
Counting of votes begins in four Lok Sabha constituencies.

31 May 2018, 07:55 AM
Elections were necessitated in Kairana after the seat fell vacant in February following the death of BJP leader Hukum Singh. The BJP has fielded Mriganka Singh, daughter of Singh, from the seat.

31 May 2018, 07:54 AM
Following the party’s defeat in from Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-elections in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP had profusely campaigned for Kairana seat in Uttar Pradesh. In Maharashtra’s Palghar and Bhandara-Gondia seats, all four major parties – BJP, Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress – left no stone unturned to woo the electorates in their favour.

31 May 2018, 07:53 AM
The Lok Sabha constituencies where counting would be conducted on Thursday are Kairana (Uttar Pradesh), Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar (Maharashtra) and Nagaland parliamentary constituency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *