Vijay Wadettiwar chairs as new LoP in MH; BJP indicates Congress to withdraw from fray for deputy chairman post

Replacing the former congressman and LoP Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil, who recently switched to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and was inducted into the Devendra Fadnavis ministry, Vijay Wadettiwar of the Indian National Congress chairs as the new leader of Opposition in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

READ:- Single-minded pursuit for growth, PM Modi focuses to open banking and insurance sectors for FDI

Wadettiwar, who hails from the Vidharbha region’s Gadchiroli-Chandrapur area, would be the third LoP in the 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Last week, the Congress party approved appointment of Wadettiwar as leader in house, Naseem Khan as the deputy leader and Balasaheb Thorat as the leader of Congress legislature party. Vijay Wadettiwar, who currently represents Brahmapuri constituency, had served as a minister in Congress-NCP Democratic Front government.

READ:- Inflated Bills by Private hospitals

On Thursday, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, while replying to the motion of thanks for Governor C Vidyasagar Rao’s address to the legislature, had described Wadettiwar as future leader of opposition. With this the CM indicated Congress to withdraw from the fray for the deputy chairman post for Sena to have the post.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *